At the end of each interaction with a customer, agents must record an outcome called a “call ending reason”. It remains a call result, even if the interaction occurred via email or other messages. These call ending reasons have two main functions:
- To record the outcome of the call for monitoring and reporting purposes.
- To determine what happens next with the contact. This might be to remove the contact from the current list, move them to a different list or to blacklist them, for example.
You can create call results which are available in all your projects, or call results which are tied to specific projects.
- Global call ending reasons - These call ending reasons are available to all projects.
- Project specific call ending reasons - are created and managed within the project they will be used in. They are only available to agents using a specific project. See Call results - Creating and editing call ending reasons
If you have a call ending reason that you intend to use for multiple projects, it is better to create it as a global reason, then hide it from the projects that don’t use it. This reduces the chances that you create multiple call ending reasons that all do the same thing, which can result in confusing reports.
In your Admin account:
- Go to the General Settings page.
- Go to the Global call endings reasons subpage.
- Click the Create new button.
Not all options need to be completed for all reasons.
- The first, unlabeled, field is for the name of the call ending reason. This will be shown in the list of call results for the agent, so choose something that will communicate the purpose of this call ending reason to the agent.
Removing a contact finalises it, meaning the automatic dialer will no longer call it. Despite being "removed" the contact will actually remain in the contact list, but will not be visible in the list by default. You may want to remove a contact after a sale has been made, for example, as you may not need to call the contact again.
- Removes contact from contact list. If this is ticked, when an agent chooses this call ending reason, the contact will be finalised.
If you have B2B options enabled on your environment, you will see a second checkbox:
- Removes company from contact list. If this is ticked, when an agent chooses this call ending reason, all contacts with the same company will be finalised.
These settings move contacts between contact lists.
- Moves contact to contact list. Click this drop-down list to select a contact list. When the agent uses this call ending reason, the contact will be moved to the selected contact list.
With B2B options, this settings becomes:
- Moves all contacts of a company to contact list. In this case, when the agent uses this call result, all contacts with the same company will be moved to the selected list.
- Retain agent assignment to new contact list. If the contact has been reserved for a particular agent, if this option is ticked, the association will be kept after the contact is moved to the new list. If this option is not ticked, moving the contact will break the assignment.
- Reset call attempts. Normally, the number of call attempts left for the contact will remain the same when the contact moves. If you tick this checkbox, the call attempts for the contact will be reset to the default value of the destination contact list
- Move number to blacklist. If this is checked, the number will be blacklisted when the agent uses this call ending reason. See blacklist
- Select global or sponsor specific blacklist. Click this drop-down list to select which blacklist to use for this call ending reason. This may be a global blacklist, or one associated with a sponsor.
The Message settings section is only available for outbound campaigns. When set, if the agent selects this call ending reason, the contact will be sent a message based on a template. The message may be an SMS or email, depending on the template.
- Message templates. Click this drop-down list to select the message template that will be used when the agent uses this call ending reason.
- Automatic sending - Tick this checkbox to send the message automatically, without input from the agent. If unticked, the agent will see a dialog with the option to edit or cancel the message before sending.
Waiting period and calling time settings
Allows you to set a waiting period to a number, so that it will not be dialed again until the waiting period elapses. Agents can still override the waiting period if they call the contact manually or from the contact list, but predictive and preview dialing will not offer the agent this contact.
- Waiting period for called number. If the agent selects this call ending reason, the contact's number will not be automatically dialed for the specified number of Days, Hours or Minutes.
- Waiting period for repeated call ending reason. If the agent selects this call ending reason and it has been selected before for this contact number, the number will not be dialed for the specified number of Days, Hours or Minutes. This overrides the previous setting.
- Waiting period for contact's other numbers. If the contact has multiple phone numbers you can set a different waiting period for them.
You can also define a daily Calling time restriction for called contact. If set, when the agent selects this call ending reason, the contact's numbers can only be called during the specified period.
- Move number in front of the call queue when waiting period is applied to it. If ticked, the contact's number will be prioritised for calling once the waiting time has elapsed.
While these reasons can be set, they only apply if the call ending reason is selected in an outbound campaign. If your agents are working in the Omni interface, these will not be relevant.
- Points - Sets a point value for this call ending reason. Visible on certain reports and widgets.
- Transfers the call to number - When the agent selects this call ending reason, the call will be transferred to the number you specify here. The number must include country code, and destination must be a LeadDesk VoIP user, like another agent, or a inbound queue).
Allows you to set a function key to be associated with this call ending reason. It should be noted however that certain function keys are reserved in certain browsers. Point your mouse cursor to the icon to see more information. If your agents use LeadDesk in a range of different browsers, the shortcut key may not work for everyone.
- Shortcut key - choose the function key to associate with this call ending reason.
Save the call ending reason
- Click the Save button to save the new reason.